Panda’s Kitchen: Chicken and Rice Soup

Hello lovelies.

Okay, so as always Wednesday means a recipe,  and while we know you’re sitting there like Hello Panda it is the end of June why are you talking to us about soup? Yes, I’m aware it is summer but M the toddler has no clue of seasonal dishes! She loves soup so I find myself standing over a hot stove blending flavors no matter what time of the year it is.

This recipe is adapted from The Pioneer Woman to suit my cooking style and my family’s preferences. Here is the original recipe and keep scrolling for my adaptation.

Chicken and Rice Soup

Ingredients:

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

2 tbsp butter

1 stalk celery, chopped

2 carrots chopped

1 red bell pepper, diced

8 cups (about 5 14.5 oz cans) low sodium chicken broth

2 cups rice ( I used Minute rice)

Thyme

Salt

Turmeric

Procedure:

First things first. The chicken. Instead of roasting the chicken I boiled mine, in my opinion, it’s easier to shred. So I got my big pot out, put about 2 quarts (8 cups) of water in, salt the water liberally and add the chicken. Once the water hits a full boil set a timer for 40 minutes. Remove chicken, drain water and set the chicken aside to cool.  img_2283

Chop all of your veggies, clean your soup pot or get a new one out. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter and sauté your veggies over medium heat for 4 minutes. Add a pinch of turmeric and sprinkle veggies with thyme. Cook for 2 more minutes.img_2284

Add the chicken broth and let simmer for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes have your chicken shredded and add it back to the pot and let it all cook together for 15 minutes and prepare the rice according to its lab instructions. If you use something other than minute rice do this sooner or you will be in limbo! After the 15 minutes is up add the rice, stir and serve. img_2260

So while it may be a few months before most of you are interested in this recipe, some of you may find it useful before then. Its a very fresh colorful dish, This time of year since D and I are not in the mood for soup I freeze it for M and thaw it out as she asks for it.

Signature

Leave a Reply

